October 11, 2019

16 Biblical Descriptions of Love

Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres. Love never fails…” 1 Corinthians 13:4-8 (NIV)  

1 Corinthians 13 is best known as the love chapter.  In just five verses Paul offers 16 descriptions of love.  Seven of those descriptions tell us what love is and nine what love is not.  Each one is personified in the life of Christ.  In Him, we too, may experience a life of love. Consider each characteristic of love as you review them and ask God to fill you with His love. 

What love is…

  • Love is patient
  • Love is kind
  • Love rejoices with the truth
  • Love always protects
  • Love always trusts
  • Love always hopes
  • Love always perseveres

What love is not…

  • Love does not envy
  • Love does not boast
  • Love is not proud
  • Love does not dishonor others
  • Love is not self-seeking
  • Love is not easily angered
  • Love keeps no record of wrongs
  • Love does not delight in evil
  • Love never fails!

Jonathan Swift, the satirical author of Gulliver’s Travels, said, “We have just enough religion to make us hate, but not enough to make us love one another.” Only an intimate personal relationship with Jesus Christ will enable us to love like He loves.  When we decrease and He increases in our lives, love begins to flow. In that current, our lives become fully restored!